Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyjean_gw

Canning using stockpot versus canner

amyjean
17 years ago

I have canned several items using my 38 qt. stockpot instead of a water bath canner. Is there any problem with this? I am very new to canning so could any advice and thoughts! Thank you in advance, Amy

Comments (9)

• ksrogers
    17 years ago

The pot must have a depth that can allow the largest canning jar used, to be covered by at least 2 inches of water. If this is a quart jar, the internal depth of the canner must be deep enough for the jar, with lid, and a rack at the bottom, as well as at least 2 inches of water, then some space above that to prevent splashing. Also, it needs to have a cover. Doing the math, the pot would need at least 11 inches of depth for a quart, and thats cutting it thin. A rack usually holds jars about an inch from the bottom. Never place jars directly on the bottom of the pot, as they can shatter.

• amyjean
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Uh oh. A cover? You are supposed to use a lid on the canning bath? Since I do have a tall stockpot, I believe that the jars will fit, including a lid, but now I'm beginning to think that maybe I should be using a thermometer to see if I'm actually getting the correct temperature. It seems to me that if water boils at 212 degrees, that would be enough, lid or no? Have I missed something critical here? I sincerely appreciate your help! Amy

• ksrogers
    17 years ago