Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahk7

ISO spicy pickle recipe a la McClure's

sarahk7
12 years ago

I am a newbie here so please be gentle. I've been lurking for a couple of years now and though I've learned much I have pretty much been scared off all attempts at home canning lest I kill someone! However, I'm feeling bold this year and am wanting to try again this summer. I'll be sticking to very high acid foods!

I want to make and BWB can a fresh (not fermented) dill cucumber pickle that is very very spicy, like McClure's pickles. They are local to me and seriously the best! but insanely expensive - like $9 a jar. The pickles are pretty basic - dill, garlic, dried spices, and several fresh hot peppers such as habaneros. No sugar. Trouble is, despite extensive searching here and in the approved books I cannot find a safe recipe for fresh pack cucumber pickles that includes fresh hot peppers as well.

So I am reaching out to the collective expertise here in hopes that someone can help! Do any of you know of a tested recipe I could use? I'm assuming that I cannot add a fresh pepper or 3 to a standard dill pickle recipe as it would dangerously change the pH.

Comments (25)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

The pickles are pretty basic - dill, garlic, dried spices, and several fresh hot peppers such as habaneros.

Hi Sarah and welcome! What is missing is how much vinegar they use.

When it comes to fresh pack pickling it is the amount of vinegar used that determines the pH and so the safety issues. For example, the minimum recommended vinegar to water ratio is 50% or 1:1 but if you use straight vinegar with no water dilution you can put almost anything in the jar.

So to get close to the McClure's you want we need to find out what ratio of vinegar to water they use. Any idea? Check out all the pickling info/recipes at NCHFP and see if one of them can be made to work.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP - PIckling

• sarahk7
    Original Author