Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtam0707

Why am I so scared to eat my canned goods?

mtam0707
11 years ago

I have been growing vegetables for over five years now and last year I decided I wanted to try my hand at canning. I bought a water-bath canner and a Ball book on canning and got to it. I made about 10 quarts of tomatoes (diced in some and sauce in the rest), some pickled jalapenos and pepperoncinis and lastly about 4 quarts of pickles. I was very proud of myself when they all sealed correctly and I stored them as instructed. However, when it came time to opening them I ended up freaking out and tossed them all, except for some pickles. My boyfriend took hold of those and refused to let go, lol. (He is still alive so I don't know why I'm still scared of it all.)
Everything looked okay, but I started to panic when I realized that in about 4 of my tomato jars I forgot to add the lemon juice. So, I convinced myself that botulism spores were running rampant throughout the sauce. Then, in another instance I had made my tomato sauce recipe, using onions, garlic and herbs and canned it. Only after did I read that doing that is a big no-no, so again, I panicked and tossed them. Soon, I just tossed everything without trying anything once. Now I'm debating on getting a pressure canner, since it seems you can do so much more and it is safer (is it?) than water-bath - in regards to risk of bacteria - but I don't know if I should since I'm already such a weenie about my canned products.

And I'm so deranged I am finding myself wanting summer to come so I can get back in the saddle with canning again. *Sigh....

Comments (5)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

It is a fairly normal concern for those new to canning so you are not alone. The resolution of the fear comes with knowing that you have done everything right and because you did the food is perfectly safe.