Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deborah_sc

Eggplant ready?

Deborah-SC
11 years ago

Good morning all! I am a newbie veggie gardener & I just picked an eggplant. It's about 9 inches long but only about 2 inches in diameter. It's a black beauty. I did not thin blossoms on the plant. When I pressed the skin with my fingernail it did not bounce back & left a mark. Was it ready? (Guess I should have asked before I did it -- but unfortunately I roll like that sometimes.)

Comments (13)

• gardenman101
    11 years ago

Black beuties are usually wider then 2" when ready. But depending on growing stresses it could be ready at 2" wide. Was the skin shinny if so then it is ready, when the skin becomes dull, then it is over ripe (still usable though) I also believe that u can use eggplant at almost every stage and size, most people do wait til they are a bit larger though. But you should be fine. I usually harvest at any size when I have a craving for fried eggplant...lol.

• Deborah-SC
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thanks gardenman101! yes, the skin is shiny. i think i read somewhere that if you don't cull blossoms that the eggplant won't get as wide. well, if it tastes like poo, i'll know to wait!

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Sounds like you may have gotten a mis-labled plant. Most likely Ichiban rather than Black Beauty. You can Google "Black Beauty eggplant' and see all kinds of pictures of what they should look like.

Dave

• Deborah-SC
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Dave - I actually have 2 each of the black beauty & Ichiban. I googled the black beauty & read on how to harvest. It's just this eggplant has been the same size for over a week. Do you thin your blossoms to get bigger fruit on the black beauty or do you "let nature take its course"?

• gardenman101
    11 years ago