Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spaghetina

Freeze favas raw with the skin on? Skin off? Cooked?

spaghetina
14 years ago

I have an overabundance of favas, and I'd hate for them to go to waste, so I'm thinking of freezing them. In the thread about what people have put up, I saw that they could be frozen, but I'm not sure how to go about it.

Would I shell them, and then just freeze them raw with the skin on? Shell, boil, then freeze? Shell, boil, skin, then freeze?

If I can/do freeze them raw with the skins on, when I boil them again, will the skins come off as easily as they did when they were fresh?

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

Shell, blanch 4 mins., ice bath cool then freeze.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP - How to Freeze Shelled Beans

• cabrita
    14 years ago

This is my first year with enough to freeze. I have recently found that I like them peeled even if they are very young, so I am letting them get bigger (and peel, there is no way around peeling). So far I froze directly, like I do with other shellies, without cooking or peeling. I am hoping for an easy skinning on the thaw end, we'll see. I decided that I will steam 5 minutes, skin and freeze the next batch; if anything, for ease of use when getting out of the freezer.

• spaghetina
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the input, you two. :) I guess since I have to blanch them anyway, I might as well put in the extra time to peel them. I've been eating them raw with olive oil and fresh oregano lately, just to get around having to cook OR peel them, but I suppose I'd better stop being lazy and bite the bullet if I want to have any favas for later.

• flora_uk
    14 years ago

If you pick them young there is no need to skin the beans. I never bother. But then we eat all ours fresh and don't freeze them.

• flora_uk
    14 years ago