Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bo_berrin

Peach pits are all cracked open? (Picture)

bo_berrin
16 years ago

Does anybody know why all the peaches I've just picked ALL have (pits? stones? seeds?) which are cracked open? Every single peach we've eaten has had a split pit. They're extremely delicious and juicy, almost every peach on the tree was perfect and huge (about 4" across!), and we didn't spray or treat them with anything at all. They also ripened very early. This is my first year in my new home, so I'm just learning about these trees. TIA for any info you might be able to offer.

Comments (10)

• readinglady
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

What a beautiful picture. We're a long ways from fresh peaches here.

I've provided a link to a helpful article about reasons for a high % of split pits.

Carol

Here is a link that might be useful: Dealing with Bitter and Split Pit

• bo_berrin
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the compliment of the photo. I thought it was so beautiful, I took dozens of pictures before and during the picking. I couldn't believe how perfect they were! I think it's because they're early--the bugs and birds didn't have time to work them over. And being an early variety adds to the "split pit" problem, since earlies are usually cling peaches, which are more likely to split.

I clicked the link but the Free Press was apparently down at the time I tried to access it; the headline came up, but the page wouldn't fully load. But if there was one article written about it, I thought, maybe there were more, so I went looking. Thanks for starting the process for me!