Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigtrout_gw

Strawberry jam problem

bigtrout
12 years ago

I made strawberry jam per Ball Blue book. Had great success last year.

for 8 half pints:

2 quarts strawberries

7 cups sugar

1 packet pectin

1/4 cup lemon juice

By the next day they had not jelled.

I realized my mistake. Long story short, I accidentally used too many strawberries for the recipe and ended up with 12 half pints.

So that evening I dumped the whole batch into a pot and reprocessed adding 2 cups of sugar, 1/8 cup lemon juice and another packet of pectin. I redid the 10 minute water bath, resealing again.

2 days and it still hasn't jelled.

I assume it is a lost cause and my best course of action is to dump the batch and start again. I'm new at this and have no other answer. Am I right?

Comments (5)

• erin_nc
    12 years ago

You might be able to make a batch the old fashioned way. Before we had those awesome packets of pectin, jammers had to reduce the contents of the pot.

Here's a recipe I developed for SavorNC magazine that uses this technique. (I'm in central NC. :) )

Take a look. See if you can use it for timings and temps. Can't hurt to try at this point. Would be a shame to toss those lovely berries.

Good luck!
    Erin

Strawberry, Ginger, Tarragon Jam

February 13, 2011

2 lbs fresh strawberries, hulled
    3 cups sugar
    zest of 2 lemons (approximately 1 heaping tablespoon)
    juice of 2 lemons (approximately one third cup)
    1/2 cup chopped candied ginger
    1 tsp unsalted butter
    1/2 cup chopped fresh tarragon

1. Bring berries, sugar, lemon juice, and ginger to a boil over medium heat stirring occasionally. If desired, mash berries with the back of the spoon while stirring.

2. For a well set jam, bring to 220 degrees. This will take at least 30 minutes. For a looser jam, bring to 118 degrees. Stir more frequently as jam nears desired temperature.