Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pqtex

onion storage - red onions

pqtex
11 years ago

I have a bounty of onions that have been curing on my back porch for the last 3 weeks and it's time to prepare them for storage, either in the freezer or pantry. This is my first year to have the red (purple?) onions in addition to the yellow and white. I'm finding they are too wet to dry store and I'm wondering about the quality/uses frozen. I like using frozen white onions in cooking, but I'm not sure of the red ones. Any suggestions or input for the best storage/uses for the red/purple onions?

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

We dehydrate most all of ours for long term storage but they will also freeze well. Just chop, measure into bags and label amounts, and vacuum seal in plastic bags and freeze.

Dave

• pqtex
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm really wanting to know how the red ones do after freezing. I've had good success with the white and yellow, but I only use them for cooking once they've been frozen. I usually use the red ones as raw condiments instead of cooking with them, so I was wondering about the uses after being frozen.

I've dehydrated onions before, but never use them as much as frozen ones.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Sorry I wasn't clear but it is red onions I was talking about. They can be used just like the whites and yellows in cooking and other than a little darker color, no difference. You wouldn't want to toss them in salads of course where you can do that with dehydrated ones but otherwise you can use them any way you would the other colors.

A handful of dried onions can be tossed into spaghetti sauce, chili, stews, soups, salad dressings, casseroles, meatloaf, etc. without even rehydrating them. You can also grind them up for onion powder.

Dave

• pqtex
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Okay, thanks.