Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
love2grow_girl

when to pull carrots?

love2grow_girl
15 years ago

I am very new at gardening and am learning lots daily! I have been researching how to know when to pull up carrots and I cannot find the answer anywhere. Can anyone tell me how I know when to pull my carrots?

Comments (15)

• ksrogers
    15 years ago

If they are planted very close together, look for the ones with the biggest green foliage that may be crowding other smaller ones next to them. You can pull a few that are also growing very close together so that it will give the nearby ones more room to grow. I do this with beets as their seeds tend to have more than one in a larger cluster. I do plant in a long row, but when some are showing larger tops, and there are smaller ones right next to them, I pull the larger ones. Usually, you can harvest a few times throughout the season, and just pull the bigger ones each time. I do use a good quality fertilizer for root crops, as it has given me some really nice sized carrots and beets. One of my favorite carrots is the stubby Danvers variety which was developed nearby here. If your carrots have gnarly roots and are deformed, its due to a very bad nematode that is called a root knot nematode. These are microscopic and feed off the roots while they develop. There is a 'benefical nematode' that is watered into the soil that will kill the bad ones, as well as other root eating bugs. If you like radishes, try a mixed batch of those too. They will mature in about 40 days, quite fast for a garden plant. Here in Z6, I can almost get three plantings of radishes during a summer months.

• gran2
    15 years ago