Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tracydr

Butchering and canning some chickens?

tracydr
12 years ago

Mcmurray Hatchery sent me a batch of the wrong chickens! They are jumbo Cornish X meat Pullets, fat blobs! I'm going to try to sell them on Craig's List but assuming I can't, I have 25 Pullets that I need to butcher and can pretty soon. It's obvious they can't tolerate the heat much longer. They are 4 weeks old, about 2-3 lbs. I've never seen anything like them!

I could use any and all advice on processing these poor girls, I've never done this before. I cut up whole chicken to cook but have never butchered a live one, removed the feathers, bled or gutted it. Much less done ten of them!

The hatchery is being fantastic, sending me new chicks at no charge. Wish I'd figured this out sooner though, these girls are eating machines!

Comments (26)

• vaherbmom
    12 years ago

Make a "killing cone"--we have done it with a section of chicken wire lined with a torn strip from a feed bag. We now have one made from a rectangle of thin sheet metal. Essentially you just take durable material and fold it into a cone shape--narrow at the bottom, wider at the top. The narrow opening must be large enough for the chicken's head to fit through. Nail to post or tree. Pick up bird and set in cone upside down--head coming out the narrow end at bottom. Slit throat and let bleed out. The chicken will slowly fall "asleep"--no flapping or violence. Once it is fully bled, remove from cone and process. With 25 birds I would suggest using an air compressor to blow off the skin rather than dipping and plucking. It is much faster and preferable if you are not selling the broilers but keeping them for yourself, and especially if you are canning them anyway and don't want the skin.

HTH

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    12 years ago