Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tracik3

annie's salsa

tracik3
10 years ago

Hi, I am new to canning. But, loving it!! I found Annie's salsa recipe. But, some where on here I saw someone say something about a revised recipe. So, is this the correct recipe? Also, can I reduce the sugar or not add it all? Thanks so much for y'alls help!!

ANNIE�S SALSA

8 cups tomatoes, peeled, chopped and drained
2 1/2 cups chopped onion
1 1/2 cups chopped green pepper
3 - 5 chopped jalapenos (to your taste)
6 cloves minced garlic
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp pepper
1/8 cup canning salt
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/3 cup sugar
1 cup vinegar (I use apple cider vinegar, use at least 5%)
16 oz. tomato sauce
16 oz tomato paste

Mix all ingredients, bring to a boil, boil 10 minutes. Pour into hot jars, BWB 15 minutes for pints or half pints. This is too thick to can in quarts, there could be a "density" issue and no salsas have been approved for canning in quarts that I'm aware of.

Makes 6 pints

Comments (35)

• TxMarti
    10 years ago

What commercial sauce does this recipe compare to? Is it more Texas style or more New York style?

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

That is the correct recipe with a couple of additions. The salt measurement is for Kosher salt so finer grains will measure differently so taste it before adding all.

The tomato paste is 8-16 oz. depending on how thick you want it.

It should read cider vinegar not just vinegar and you can sub lemon juice or lime juice for part of the vinegar for a different taste. I do 1/2 and 1/2 vinegar and lime.

Dave

PS: I don't know that it compares to any commercial sauce. Most find it far better than any commercial sauce. I guess if I had to pick one of your choices I'd say Texas. There is literally tons of info here about it that the search will pull up.

• tracik3
    Original Author
    10 years ago

thank you so much for the reply! You didn't say anything about the sugar?

• malna
    10 years ago