Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kayskats

ReaLemon/Lime acidity

kayskats
16 years ago

FYI:

after reading various posts, I was still confused about the actual acidity of ReaLemon and ReaLime. Below is their response to my querry:

Thank you for contacting us about ReaLemon. Your comments and inquiries are appreciated because they provide valuable feedback about our brands.

Here is some information about the acidity of Realemon and Realime:

ReaLemon Acidity (as citric acid) 49-51 g/L

Brix 6.5-8.0%

pH 2.4-2.6

SO2 250ppm

Cadbury Schweppes has been making great brands that people love for more than 200 years. We are proud of our family of beverage and confectionery products and are committed to providing a wide range of choices for all individuals.

(a subsequent exchange prompted the info that the acidity for ReaLime is the same)

I'm no scientist, but I intrepret the Brix to mean acidity and between 6.5 and 8% -- which seems a rather wide range.

Comments???

Comments (17)

• ksrogers
    16 years ago

Long time ago, I tried the Real Lime, it was awful, and I think the Real Lemon is that way too! Now, I buy the Nellie & Joe's lime juice and have been for many years. I go through a case of 12 bottles about every 6 months or so, and have to buy it on line as most stores don't carry it here..

• jenniesue
    16 years ago

This is a bit off topic, but does anyone know if the acidity of bottle lemon juice will change over time? I pretty much only use the bottled stuff for canning tomatoes so a bottle lasts a long time. Would the old bottles have lower acidity?
    I can't imagine actually cooking with stuff, but I guess the chemical taste doesn't bother everyone. My neighbor puts it in her tea.

• readinglady
    16 years ago

OK, we probably need a chemist here, but I'll give it a shot.