Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robin_d

Anyone here can homemade cat food?

robin_d
15 years ago

I have an embarrassingly generous supply of meat that's been in the freezer just a bit too long - it's not spoiled, but we don't want to eat it. The cats (five of them) however, don't mind if it's a bit past its prime.

I'm planning to can the meat and fish (separately) for the cats. My question is, is there anything I can safely add to make it more nutritious? Vitamins? Vegetables?

With the price of canned cat food these days, I really hate to waste this meat... but I want it to be good for them, too. :-)

Comments (10)

• ksrogers
    15 years ago

Most commercial pet foods have cereal added. These are a mix of different grains. Most are just 'fillers'. Pressure canning would be required. You can add a little parsley as it helps to deodorize most pet foods. A ground product would be suitable.

• robin_d
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you very much! I do have a meat grinder, so that isn't a problem, but I wouldn't have thought to add parsley. It should help with their breath, lol! :-)

• robin_d
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I thought I'd follow the direction on this recipe, but I want to use smaller jars. What would be the proper processing time for half-pint or 4 oz. jars?

• readinglady
    15 years ago

The same time as for the pints.

Carol

• melva02
    15 years ago

Robin, read around before you decide (and remember you can't can grains). I know there are some dog nutrition forums on the web, I'm sure there are cat ones. Dogs don't need grain, but do well with meat and vegetables. I feed my dog commercial food but supplement with cooked vegetables for extra eating without too many extra calories (he also likes the fiber and will eat grass if he's not getting enough). I'm sure people have strong opinions on what's good for cats, so read up and try to find some hard science to back up what you think!