Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cippolini Onions - how to preserve

Posted by pam_chesbay VA 8a/7b (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 23, 13 at 16:46

This is my first year to grow onions. I'm surprised and gratified to have a bumper crop. In fact, I probably have an onion glut. In addition to red, white and yellow storage onions, I planted Red Marble and Borettana Cippolini onions (purchased from Dixondale).

I plan to store some of the storage onions in net bags, chop and freeze the rest.

My question relates to storing the cippolinis.

Do you suggest storing them in net bags? Can you freeze them whole? (does the quality suffer?) Do you make relish from onions? Pickles?

When I planted these little guys, I had NO IDEA they would grow so well.

Many thanks for advice and suggestions.
Pam

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cippolini Onions - how to preserve

Never grown them personally but from all I have read they are primarily used for fresh eating and cooking. And like most the sweeter varieties they don't store or hold up well to preserving. So I'd think chopping and freezing in measured amount would be the best method. It would retain most of the flavor and can be used in any cooking recipe calling for onions.

I did find a couple of recipes for pickling them if pickled onions appeal to you and you can always caramelize them and freeze them for a different taste.

Dave

o

I canned some sweet onions, sliced and gently cooked til translucent, then added the onion water, then processed. They were good for a few months, only good for soups and such tho.

o

Dave, myfamily -

Thanks for the suggestions. The plants came from Dixondale - their site says cippolinis store for about 5 months - longer than I would expect.