Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drgeekgrl

Sauerkraut question...

E
15 years ago

After watching all the sauerkraut threads last year, I finally started my first batch this year.

For the first week, everything was going great - bubbles were forming, that sauerkraut-y smell was starting.

It has been two full weeks since I started the kraut. Now, nothing is going on. There are still bubbles in the jar, but no bubbles are rising. It looks to me like the fermentation has either stopped, or slowed so much that it is no longer ever going to ferment. I tasted some, it just tastes like slightly sour salty cabbage.

I'd like to know if my sauerkraut will ever finish this fermentation process, or if I need to chuck it *sob* and start again. Or maybe it's doing just what it is supposed to be doing, and since it's my first time, I'm just clueless.

There are two factors that may have influenced my kraut.

1. The first 3 or so days after I started it, it was upstairs, which meant it was fairly warm. I assumed that was what kick started the fermentation, so I took it downstairs to the basement to be in a cooler spot to slow the fermentation.

2. About a week into it, the fermentation had bubbled up so much of the brine out of the jar, I added some more brine to the jar, using the same ratio as the Blue Ball recipe.

So is this kraut salvageable? Thank you so much!

Comments (7)

• ksrogers
    15 years ago

You may need it in that warmer place. Losing brine, and the adding new is not a good sign.

• rob430
    15 years ago

I started kraut 1 1 1/2 wks ago and it was kinda warm. Well there are no bubbles going on. Does that mean it's done and I have to take it out and put it in the fridge or just leave it alone? With instructions that kraut takes 3-4 wks, how can it ferment that long?

• readinglady
    15 years ago

How does it smell? And if it smells fine, how does it taste? That's the first indicator.

Carol

• rob430
    15 years ago