Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wertach2

I was asked to post this pickled okra recipe here, opinions?

Another poster said it wasn't safe, on the vegetable forum. Although it has never made anyone sick, to my knowledge. It has been passed down through the generations and I got it from a friends Mom. I have been using it for 20+ years. What Ya' think?

Pickled Okra

Ingredients:

2 cups of white vinegar

4 cups of water

1/3 cup of salt

Okra (enough okra to fill 4 quart jars)

8 cloves of fresh garlic peeled

4 jalapeno peppers

4 tbs dill seed

Preparation:

Combine and bring first 3 ingredients to boil. Fill 4 hot jars with okra and add 2 fresh garlic cloves, 1 jalapeno pepper cut up and 1 tbs of dill seed per jar. Fill jars with mixture. Put on canning lids and cook in water bath for 10 minutes at 180 degrees (or almost boiling). Do not boil or overcook.

Remove jars from water immediately and set aside to cool. Makes 4 quarts.

Comments (10)

• readinglady
    12 years ago

Many of the old "pioneer" recipes used vinegars which were stronger than the 5% in common use today, so they called for higher proportions of water.

However, with today's 5% vinegar that recipe does not meet current standards for guaranteed safety, being 2:1 water to vinegar.

The processing is pasteurization and that compounds the problem.

Of course, everyone decides for themselves the level of risk they are comfortable with. It's a matter of the odds. Statistically, your experience over 20 years is still too small a sample to conclude the recipe is safe. It only means that so far you've been lucky.

Carol

• Linda_Lou
    12 years ago

Sorry, it is not a safe recipe to use. Not enough vinegar and it needs to be processed in a boiling water bath canner with boiling water, not 180 degrees.

• pixie_lou
    12 years ago

Here is a Dilled Pickled Okra recipe from NCHFP. It is a safe recipe. The seasonings are similar to your recipe, but the ratio of vinegar to water is a lot higher.