Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ckmcmann

Basic dill pickle recipe and directions

ckmcmann
10 years ago

I am new to canning and am interested in canning my pickling cukes this season. I'm searching for a basic dill pickle recipe. I'm searching here, google, you tube, etc.
I probably will be Mrs. Wages mix, this being my first year.

I'm getting a little overwhelmed if I am to add garlic, additional dill, etc.

Also, I've seen two different times for puttin the jars in the bath - one for 10 one for 15! Should I get 16 oz or 24 oz jars? Suggestions for a newbie?

Kind thanks in advance...

Comments (15)

• ckmcmann
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Does anyone have an opinion on this recipe?

http://recipes.mrswages.com/recipedetail.aspx?id=1454

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

The recipe you linked above would not be considered a safe one to use since it has 2x as much water as vinegar. The minimum recommended ratio is 1:1 vinegar to water when using an untested recipe..

Approved pickling recipes are easy to find in both the Ball canning books and at NCHFP (National Center for Home Food Preservation) linked below. Unfortunately that are many UNsafe recipes out there on the web so until you understand all the underlying safety issues it is best to stick with only approved and tested recipes.

The Mrs. Wages Mixes are safe to use since they have citric acid added to them to insure proper acidity levels. Whether you will like the flavor or not I can't say.

But whichever recipe you use you add only what the recipe calls for, no extras. And you process for the time and in the size jars the recipe calls for. Most but not all approved pickle recipes call for 10 min for pints and 15 min for quarts.

Hope this helps.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP - Pickling Guidelines and Recipes

• ckmcmann
    Original Author
    10 years ago