Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
digdirt2

Boy I wish you could can coleslaw!

digdirt2
14 years ago

Wife makes the very best fresh coleslaw this time of year. I think I could live off it alone - at least until the tomatoes get ripe. ;)

Too bad there is no way, with all this ripe cabbage and baby carrots, that we can't make the milk/mayo based slaw and preserve it for winter time. The vinegar based freezer slaw just isn't the same.

Dave

Comments (6)

• ruthieg__tx
    14 years ago

I actually prefer the vinegar based and just canned 7 quarts. I will add a little mayo if I want when they are opened but usually I don't...I love cole slaw and I love growing cabbage because it produces such great quantities...did I mention that I love cabbage.

• digdirt2
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hey Ruthie - share your recipe that you can will you? I've never seen one for canning and that may be a solution for my problem. ;)

Dave

• ruthieg__tx
    14 years ago

This is my first year to can it and haven't opened a jar yet but on the yahoo canning group that I belong to everyone was raving about this recipe. They say that it stays very crisp just the way cole slaw should be. They all do agree though that this recipe is way to much sugar and was too sweet for most folks so everyone was cutting back to about 3/4 cup of sugar instead of the amount called for in the original recipe. I make one almost identical and it gets raves anytime I serve it and I always take it to potlucks. If you have a favorite dressing I think you could rinse all the vinegar etc from the canning and use your own dressing. You might have to adjust the ingredients a bit but it should be a pretty good substitute. Here is the recipe...

Coleslaw to can or freeze

1 medium head cabbage

1 large carrot

1 green pepper

1 small onion

1 teaspoon salt

SYRUP

1 cup vinegar

1/4 cup water

3/4 cups sugar

1 teaspoon celery seeds

1 teaspoon mustard seeds