Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
another_buffalo

Now about all these beans.........

another_buffalo
11 years ago

This is my first year growing beans, even though I have been gardening for years. So, I have never cooked fresh beans. My expertise was opening a can of green beans and 'doctoring' them with a little butter and maybe some green onions.

This year I have a wax bean, kentucky wonder pole, a fine red french bean that turns green when cooked, and have started red noodle, Cherokee TofT Black beans, and the beautiful hyacinth bean for the flowers (I do plan to try cooking some as well and enjoy the flowers).

The first three listed are now producing lots of beans. I was planning to can them into a three bean salad pickle. I've cooked a few in the microwave with a little water, butter, and seasoning, then added a tad of sour cream before serving. It was not bad.

Can someone please share with me the proper way to cook fresh green beans? And maybe some recipes to inspire taking the beans further into recipes? Your help would certainly be appreciated.

Comments (12)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

I don't know that there is a 'proper' way. There are many different ways and it all depends on personal tastes and the variety.

Fresh harvested string beans of all types will require longer cooking times than canned beans however as canned beans have already been cooked once during the canning process.

There are also regional differences in how to cook them. Some folks prefer them al dente - still crisp to the bite. Others such as we southeners much prefer them well cooked almost to the point of mushy. A common southern method for cooking them is boiled until quite soft and wrinkled with diced onions and some bacon grease or several chunks of ham or bacon mixed in. We often dip whole green beans in batter and deep fry them as well and stir fried in a bit of oil with diced onions and garlic is also good. I've never found a good way of cooking them in a microwave.