Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pqtex

Canning Homemade! website and recipes?

pqtex
11 years ago

There have been discussions about canning websites that have reliable information and ones that don't.

I came across a website called "Canning Homemade!" that has a lot of canning recipes that sound really good. The author's profile includes Master Food Preserver credentials.

A lot of her canning recipes sound good to me. Some of them are credited to "Can It" from Better Homes and Gardens. Many are listed as adaptations and she lists the source.

I am careful about using recipes from unfamiliar sources and I'm not experienced enough to judge all of the recipes, but she appears to be very safety conscious and is detailed. Although the NCHFP isn't mentioned (that I could find), first appearances are that she is following guidelines.

Has anyone seen this website? Do you consider the recipes to be reliable in the the realm of safety? If you haven't used the website, I'd appreciate any input about whether the recipes all seem safe to you. And would you consider them reliable enough to try? Spot anything that is not a safe practice?

Jill

Here is a link that might be useful: Canning Homemade!

Comments (4)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Without going through each and every recipe on the website there is simply no way to know. Each recipe would have to be evaluated individually. Yes she "claims" to be an MFP and yes she does cite some approved instructions. Be she also makes changes in recipes and includes recipes from many other unknown sources.

Nothing jumped out at me saying "no certified MFP would recommend this" but I can't take the time to go through the entire site either.

Which is why the consistent recommendation here is to stay away from personal blogs as a source of canning instructions. In general, they are not considered safe sources. Yes there are a few exceptions where the individuals credentials can be verified. That is not the case here.