Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
uaskigyrl

Difference between 'fridge Pickles and Regular

uaskigyrl
12 years ago

Hello!

I'm quite new to canning but I have been a very active canner so far (I've put up about 100 jars since May - which is a lot considering it's just little ol' me) and as one knows, there are refridgerator pickles and then regular pickles.

I'm wondering what the difference is between a refridgerator pickle and a regular canned pickle? What's stopping me from just boiling water bath a recipe that is a fridge pickle?

(I haven't done it, so don't worry, I'm just curious as to the difference!)

Thanks,

uaskigyrl

Comments (18)

• Linda_Lou
    12 years ago

Most times a refrigerator pickle has a weaker brine, not strong enough to be used to process for safety reasons.
    With the refrigerator pickles a person needs to be sure they are using a current, up to date recipe and method. Some of the older ones can allow listeria to grow.
    The ones that are not recommended will say to let sit at room temp. for a couple days, then put in the fridge. There is not enough acid in these to keep them safe, even in the fridge. Listeria can grow in the fridge.
    The others are fresh pack pickles and have a brine that will be at least half 5 % acidity vinegar to water ratio.
    There are also fully fermented pickles, like you would ferment sauerkraut.
    The quick pack are the fastest to make and those are the type my family likes.

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

What's stopping me from just boiling water bath a recipe that is a fridge pickle?

There are exceptions of course but usually fridge pickle recipes are make-and-eat recipes and aren't intended for long-time fridge storage much less acidic enough for shelf storage.

Dave

• btbarbara
    12 years ago