Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Modifying tested recipes

Posted by scott123456 5 (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 15, 14 at 3:57

This is my first time posting on this forum. I hang out on gardenweb's hot pepper forum a lot and have some canning questions. Ajsmama recommended that I ask them on this forum from now on so here goes. I am new to pickling peppers I have only attempted two batches and I would like to get into jams and jellies as well. The first two batches I attempted I did not follow a tested recipe, I just copied someone on you tube. They turned out fine and no one got sick, but I would like to follow recommended recipes from now on. However, all the recommended recipes seem kind of boring. My question is if I add sugar to a recipe for pickled peppers will that change the pH, and if so by how much? I have attached a tested recipe and would like to add sugar to it, is it safe to do?

Thank you,
Scott

Here is a link that might be useful: pickled peppers

This post was edited by scott123456 on Tue, Jul 15, 14 at 4:22

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Modifying tested recipes

You can add sugar to taste to any pickling recipe, it only helps by binding up some of the free water (reducing water activity which you want to do). If you like sweet jalapeno rings, you might want to check out the honeyed jalapeno rings from The Joy of Pickling, or search this forum for Cowboy Candy. Welcome to Harvest!

Honeyed Jalapeno Pepper Rings

Yield: 8 half pints

Ingredients

2 1/4 pounds jalapeños cut into rings and, if you like, seeded
8 small garlic cloves, sliced
24 peppercorns
2 Tbsp honey
2 Tbsp of pickling spice
2 tsp pickling salt
4 cups cider vinegar
1/4C (4 Tbsp) or less olive oil (may be omitted)

1. Divide sliced garlic and peppercorns between 8 half pint jars. Add the pepper rings.

2. Place pickling spice in a spice bag or scrap of cheesecloth. Bring cider vinegar, salt, honey, and spice bag to a boil in a non-reactive pan.