Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Purple hull jelly

Posted by wcjoyner (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 31, 07 at 9:00

I made a batch of purple hull jelly yesterday. The recipe was 2 pkgs of sure-jell, 8 cups of sugar and 8 cups of the juice from boiling the hulls. I put it up in half pint jelly jars, and put a litle smidge that was left over in a bowl in the frig. The cold jelly is just fine, perfect texture, just firm enough. The jars are still very liquid however. Should I wait a longer and see what happens to them? This is my first time making jelly so I am a little nervous!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Purple hull jelly

Give it a few more days at least. Jelly can be weird and take it's own sweet time to jell.
You can always open and cook it more if you need to.

o

I take it the jars are not refrigerated. If not, I'm sure they eventually will jell just like the small refrigerated sample.

Jim

o

As a fellow jelly newbie I know exactly how you feel. :) Last week I made some jelly for the first time. It took a couple of days for mine to set up even though the leftover jar (in the fridge) jelled very quickly. And though I *knew* from reading that it can take a while to jell after processing I still posted here for reassurance. My jars are nicely jelled now and I'm sure yours will too.

Cheers

o

The good thing about this is that your jelly will eventually become the right consistency, not too solid.

I remember cases when we had to console members whose jelly was rubbery and we tried to think up uses for it. Aye!

Jim

o

Jim,

I had to laugh reading your post. I've been debating using my banana jam for spackle. The texture is a bit, um, well, let's be kind and call it "firm".

Cheers

o

• Posted by kayskats 7 (usda) 8 (arbor da (My Page) on
    Tue, Jul 31, 07 at 22:05

I seldom do jellies ... so pardon a stupid question, but what is purple hull jelly?

o