Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Questions on preserving nectarines

Posted by sqftgarden_in_wnc 7a (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 10, 08 at 9:09

I am very new to preserving and canning. I have no idea what to do with about 4-5 lbs of fresh nectarines that I got at our tailgate market. Can any of the following be done with them and how:
freezing
preserves
jam or jelly
canning
some sort of relish or butter
Any help is greatly appreciated. I was hoping to do something with them by today. I don't want them to go bad or get over ripe.
Thanks,
Tonya

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Questions on preserving nectarines

Try this link for all of the options you listed!!

You can also search the Harvest Forum for recipes and discussions previously posted.

Good luck.......and lucky you!!

Deanna

Here is a link that might be useful: National Center for Home Food Preservation

o

For nectarines, apricots, apples and peaches. ANY canning or freezing requires the use of ASCORBIC ACID to keep them from turning an unpleasant brown color. Without it in the juice liquid, jelly, or syrup, you get quick oxidation. Nectarines go well with pluots, peaches, and plums. A nice preserve can also be made with them alone or mixed. Remove the skins by a dip in boiling water and a quick cool down. They are not as good if skins and stones are left on. Freezing prepped slices is OK too, but you still need the ascorbic acid (NOT CITRIC!) dip in a strong solution, to keep the color fresh looking.

o

A nectarine is just a fuzzless peach, so any peach recipe you like will work for nectarines.

Carol

o