Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annew21

Food in Jars blog

Anne Wolfley
9 years ago

Hi all,

I've been canning for a few years, and lurking on this forum (have learned a TON from you all - thank you!). I've mostly canned tomatoes, green beans,and pickles. I have the Ball Blue book (the one with peach pie on the cover), and made a few of the different cucumber pickle recipes. Now I'm looking for something new and different. I'm skeptical about online sites, mainly because of safety concerns. That said, has anyone ever made recipes from this blog? The two recipes I'm interested in trying (garlic dill pickles and cucumber pepper relish) seem to have enough vinegar to be safe. Do you think they look safe? Any advice would be welcome.

Thanks,
Anne

Comments (9)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

We have had previous discussions about that blog that the search will pull up. I don't really recall what the consensu was about it but like most personal blogs, any recipes have to be individually evaluated. Or you can always just stick with tested and approved recipes. For example, NCHFP has several similar recipes to the Cucumber Pepper Relish one.

I don't see anything wrong with the Cuke/Pepper Relish one although I don't see why the vinegar has to be divided and the solid ingredients drained. But it is still an undiluted vinegar brine so safety isn't an issue. Can only be done in 1/2 pint jars.

The pickles recipe is also available at NCHFP although with slightly different proportions. It meets the minimum requirement for acidification so would be considered safe as long as you understand it is the MINIMUM and that pH rises during shelf storage. I don't agree with the note that the same processing could be done if you use halves or spears rather than slices. But it can only be done in pints and whole, halfs, and spears would be hard to do in pints so I'd stick with slices.

Can I ask what it is that appeals to you about these particular recipes?

Dave

• malna
    9 years ago