Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
honey_jeanne

jar tipped over while canning

honey.jeanne
10 years ago

I'm new to canning and while I was canning yesterday one of the jars tipped over. I didn't see it until the time was up and when I pulled it out some of the brine had come out. So now there's a few green beans sticking out, the jar did seal but I don't know what I should do with it.

Comments (12)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

BWB or pressure canning? You mention "brine" so can I assume these were pickled or are we talking about caning green beans?

Makes a difference as to how to handle them so more info is needed please. meanwhile stick the jar in the fridge.

Dave

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

I'd use it first, the beans out of the liquid will discolor. Personally, I'd just make a meal with them and not store it.

• honey.jeanne
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Bath water and yes they are pickled

• honey.jeanne
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Bath water and yes they are pickled

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

I would still use that jar first. If you are in doubt, refrigerate it before eating. Good time to check to see if you like the recipe. we usually 'try' 1-2 of each batch.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Since they are pickled - store in fridge and allow the flavor to develop then eat when ready.

The problem with opening pickled products now to eat them is that the flavor won't be there so not worth saving. Yet if you shelf-store them they will discolor as already mentioned - safe just discolored. Storing in the fridge will slow the discoloration and still allow the flavor to develop.

Dave

• honey.jeanne
    Original Author
    10 years ago

great thank you so much to everyone, I'll keep them in my fridge.

• dgkritch
    10 years ago

Next time, if your pot isn't full, try placing some empty jars (no lids) in there to fill up the space and prevent tipping.

Dave is right, refrigerate (3-4 weeks) for flavor, then eat.