Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Water bath for pickles

Posted by ccarr TN (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 30, 08 at 10:04

I have been using my Grandma's recipe for a few years now and have been getting into putting up things like jellys and jams. I have been reading about how everything needs to be processed in a water bath or pressure canner. My recipe does not call for either. I have never had any problems with the pickles or with them being sealed. But wonder if I need to precess them in a water bath just to make sure they are safe. Do I need to process them and if yes how long?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Water bath for pickles

The biggest issue is not the processing time (which is dependent upon many factors) but the recipe itself.

Many older pickle recipes originally relied upon much stronger vinegars than the 5% in use today so they had an extra margin of safety that no longer exists.

We need to see the recipe first.

Carol

o

If your recipe doesn't have at least half vinegar that is 5 % acidity to water ratio, it cannot prevent botulism. Cucumbers are low acid vegetables and need that much acid or more to destroy botulism .
You must process all foods if they are to be stored on the shelf. Otherwise nothing has been done to destroy bacteria and you will not have a true vacuum seal.

o

Very common to see your question and concerns here. As you now know that safety is the biggest issue. Pickles with a high vinegar ratio, and jellies with high acid are usually fairly safe even if not done 'exactly' to the letter as far as processing times. Thats because they USUALLY have enough acid, salt, and sugar to protect the foods from supporting any botulism or nasty bacteria. Suggest that you take awhile and read through te many recent threads to see more info, hooro stories and solutions. Also keep in mind that no one here wants to make anyone else sick (or even DIE) from a bad canning.
Happy reading..

o

the recipe for Grandma's pickles:
1 qt. vinegar