Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mathchick

what is your favorite thing to can?

mathchick
10 years ago

Hi all, this is my first post. I just finished reading through about 30 pages of forum posts, and hopefully a few of you will weigh in on my question. This is my first year canning and I'm having a hard time figuring out what to do besides jam, applesauce, and tomatoes. I have both a water bath and pressure canner, so I can do veggies & meat as well. I have essentially no freezer space, so I'm wondering where different fruits and veggies are on the spectrum of useful & yummy to not so tasty or useful. I realize this is largely opinion-based, but it would still be helpful to hear what veteran canners have found. In particular, I have access to lots of: corn, beans, spinach/greens, tomatoes, onion, peppers, radishes, oranges, apples, beets, pears, peaches. I'm able to get free unsold "undesirable" produce from grocery stores that just has a bruise or is funny shaped. Sorry so long! Any opinions/thoughts on what you find to be yummy canned, or disgusting, is wholeheartedly welcome!

Comments (12)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Hi and welcome to the forum! :)

My simple answer would be something like the wife loves fruits so her focus is jams and preserves that she can use as is, in baking, or turn into syrups and toppings. Canned peaches (everyone she can get her hands on) is her #1 love. Blueberries a close second. She cans them plain so she can later make pie fillings, pop-overs, etc. Apples comes in third and mostly gets turned into pie fillings and applesauce. We don't do much with citrus fruit as canning turns it bitter.

Now my love is vegetables - any kind for the most part but especially the ones I love to eat - tomatoes, salsa, corn, green beans, potatoes, baked beans, limas, pinto, chili beans, etc. I like canned spinach but no one else does so I only do a few pints for me. We both like pickled beets so we always do lots of those.