Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coralb_gw

Using food processor to prep for canning?

coralb
11 years ago

Hi all,

Sorry if this questioned has been asked and answered. I did a search and did not find it. I am new to canning and wondered if it was possible to shorten my prep time by using a food processor to chop some veggies. Specifically, I was wondering if it is alright to use for Annie's salsa, Ellie Topps chunky basil sauce, Ball's sweet pickle relish, and Sure Gel's pepper jelly? I would not use for tomatoes for the salsa or pasta sauce since it seems it would liquefy them. I know this might seem like a silly question but I was wondering if the food processor might release too much liquid, especially with the peppers and cukes. Also, not sure if the fact that some pieces are different sizes would be a problem.

Thanks in advance. I have been a long time lurker and have learned a lot from the experienced canners who take the time to answer basic questions like this!

Comments (7)

• malna
    11 years ago

You can use a food processor. I rarely do only because it's a PITA to clean, I can't seem to get the size I want (even with a whole collection of slicing and dicing blades that DH HAD to have) and my DH is whiz with a knife and loves to chop vegetables (no, he is not for rent :-)

When I do, I drain the vegetables well - you are right that it does create a lot of extra liquid. For most things, different sizes are not a safety problem unless they are really huge or really tiny. For me, it's more of a quality issue with the finished product using the food processor as opposed to hand chopped vegetables.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Agree that there is no reason you can't use it if you are happy with the results. I never am and find many other manually operated kitchen tools give better results as I have much more control over the end texture and size so much less gets wasted.