Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary1956_gw

What is a lug in pickles and recipe question

Mary1956
11 years ago

Hi All,

I'm new to canning and received a recipe from a friend for sweet pickles. It calls for 1 lug of cucumbers but I can't find anything that tells me how much is in a lug. Cucumbers seem to be measured by the bushel. Also, the recipe calls for 24 cups of sugar, 12 cups vinegar, 15 teas salt and pickling spice. Does this sound right? I guess it would depend on what a lug is as it sure sounds like a lot of sugar to me. Unfortunately this is a handed down recipe and the person is now deceased so no one to ask. Thanks for any assistance.

Mary

Comments (8)

• flora_uk
    11 years ago

I Googled it and found this: 'A lug is a box that is 16 1/8 inches by 13 1/4 inches. It is about 30 lbs'

That's a lot of cucumbers and would account for the huge quantities of the other ingredients.

Others will comment on the safety of the recipe, I'm sure.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

"Lug" is a very, very old marketing measurement (European Medieval era oriented if I recall my history correctly) term which as Flora said is basically any container that holds approx. 30-35 lbs of produce.

Without seeing the entire recipe there is no way to know if it is safe to use or not other than to say that the majority of these old "handed-down" recipes are no longer considered safe since they they contain too many guesstimate measurements and often contain too little vinegar to maintain a stable pH. They could get away with it in Grandma's date because their vinegar was at least 2x as strong as any we have today.

It is definitely a use at your own risk recipe.

Dave

• Mary1956
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you both for your response. I'm going to search for a similar recipe to be safe. I have about 10 pounds of cucs. Any recipes you would suggest?

Again, thank you!

• Mary1956
    Original Author
    11 years ago