Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
star0603

I inherited a Ronco Dehydrator

star0603
15 years ago

Hi... I recently was given a Ronco 5 tray dehydrator from a great-aunt of mine. She had bought it a while ago, but didn't use it much, if at all! Only problem is, there is no instruction book with it. It looks fairly simple, but I have a silly question about one of the items in the box. The dehydrator itself came with the heating unit, lid, and 5 trays. It also came with a thin plastic disk that had holes all through it. At first, I thought it was to somehow cover the heating element as something to seperate the heating coil and the trays. But, thinking that it was likely to create a fire hazard, I decided it was probably not a guard of some sort. From the hole in the middle of the disk, it also could be an herb tray insert. But, I am not sure. I have never used a dehydrator before, so I thought I would try it out (this is the first year of having my very own garden, and I have been canning and freezing, so I thought dehydration would also be a useful skill). Anybody who knows anything about the Ronco 5 tray (it is all dark plastic, since apparently, there are two or three Ronco 5 tray models)- could you help me out? Thank you very much!

Comments (12)

• readinglady
    15 years ago

Here's the manual:

Here is a link that might be useful: Ronco Dehydrator Manual

• Linda_Lou
    15 years ago

You can use it if you want to, but it will take a very long time to dry anything. The foods can mold or spoil before they are dry on a Ronco. Please, do not use it for meats, they will not be safe to eat.
    I am sorry to say this, but, truthfully, we do not recommend use of a Ronco since they have no fan or thermostat.

• ksrogers
    15 years ago