Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathyinz6

Jam Batch 'Watery'

KathyInZ6
11 years ago

Hello all! I'm new to canning and new to this forum. I've enjoyed reading through a lot of your posts and can see that I'll be learning a lot here! :o)

I canned my first jam yesterday. I made a mini batch of nectarine jam. Everything seemed to go well except it seems really liquidy. Is there something I can do post-processing to try to firm it up a bit like reprocess? I'm wondering what I did wrong.

Basically, my recipe was:

2 1/2 lbs nectarines (peeled and lightly pulsed in the food processor)

6 cups sugar

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 3oz packet liquid pectin

Did I use enough pectin?

Any suggestions appreciated so my next batch will be more successful.

Thanks!

Kathy

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

What was the source of the recipe? Some that require liquid pectin call for 2 envelopes. Otherwise just give it some time. Liquid pectin jams can sometimes take up to 6 weeks to set fully.

Personally I don't care for the softer set you get from liquid pectin and prefer to use powdered pectin for a more firm set but that's just a personal opinion.

Dave

• KathyInZ6
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the reply Dave. I got the recipe from the New Cook Book Canning magazine. It was actually for peaches but I had nectarines on hand. :oP

I'll give it some time and see if they set more. At the very least they may be really good served on some creative dish or another.

I think I'll give the powdered pectin a try next time.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

The reason I asked about the source is that is a lot of nectarines for only 1 pouch. Most liquid pectin recipes call for 1 pouch added to 2-4 cups of fruit, not pounds.

Since you are new to canning you might want to stick with tested and approved recipes to begin with.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP - Jams and Jellies

• KathyInZ6
    Original Author
    11 years ago