Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
homemadecountrylife

Presto 01781 23-Quart Pressure Canner and Cooker

Hi all, I'm about to pull the trigger on the Presto 01781 23-Quart Pressure Canner and Cooker, is this a good canner for canning soups, low acid foods and such? Does anyone have one, do you like it, and do I need a pressure canner regulator?

And what do you think is the difference between these two Presto Pressure Canners, other then the size & price?

Presto 23 : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000BYCFU/ref=ox_sc_act_title_4?ie=UTF8&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Presto 22 : http://www.amazon.com/Presto-22-Quart-Aluminum-Pressure-Cooker/dp/B00006ISG8/ref=sr_1_10?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1342892050&sr=1-10&keywords=presto

Thank you in advance :)

~ Amanda :)

Comments (34)

• PNWGirl
    11 years ago

Hi Amanda,
    I am a newbie too :) I have ordered my Presto 23-QT from Amazon and will have it on Monday, 7/23, I can not wait!!

I thought that I would give you the reasons that I settled on the 23 qt vrs. the 22 qt.

~ Right now the 23 qt (on Amazon) is $10 cheaper than the 22 quart
    ~ The larger 23 quart gives you a bit more room when doubling it as a boiling water bath (like for jams)
    ~ The advice, on the forum, is buy the biggest model you can afford as this is, most likely, a lifetime purchase. I've read a LOT of posts stating the 23 quart is a good one for the money.
    ~ After reading this post (http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/harvest/msg0209484416611.html) I also purchased the weights from Amazon for it (link is in the first post).

So those are the reasons that I purchased the 23 qt over the 22 qt.

Sheila :)

• homemadecountrylife
    Original Author
    11 years ago

LOL! I just bought the 22 quart. I figured it was only 1 quart difference, but I noticed the 22 seemed "heavier duty" then the 23 quart, but that's what it looked like to me. I noticed that the weights looked different between them, too.