Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimhat_gw

Basic pickle recipe

KimHat
11 years ago

I am new to canning and have found all sorts of tested pickle recipes out there, but they are always more complicated than I want. I love pickled jalapenos, but i want them to taste like they do from the store-just better. But I don't want garlic or caraway seed or dill in them. Can I just use half vinegar/half water mix with a teaspoon of salt in each jar? (pint jars). Can I use any kind of vinegar. Can I leave anything out of a tested recipe except vinegar, water, and salt? If there is sugar in a recipe, can I tweak that, or is that important for food safety reasons, too? I guess in a nutshell, what parts of any given recipe are hard and fast, and what parts can I play with? And also, how long does processing time have to bee for pint jars of jalapenos? My last batch was 15 minutes in a BWB, but the jalapenos were a little softer than I like. Thanks- and any info would be appreciated.

Comments (5)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Just pickled peppers, right?

I guess in a nutshell, what parts of any given recipe are hard and fast, and what parts can I play with?

Yours isn't an easy question to answer because it varies depending the food and the recipe in question. So bear with me please. Take the NCHFP approved recipe for Pickled Jalapeno Pepper Rings:

Pickled Jalapeno Rings

3 pounds jalapeno peppers
    1 1/2 cups pickling lime
    1 1/2 gallons water
    7 1/2 cups cider vinegar (5%)
    1 3/4 cups water
    2 1/2 tablespoons canning salt
    3 tablespoons celery seed
    6 tablespoons mustard seed
    Yield: About 6 pint jars.

The lime and 1 1/2 gallons of water are for pre-soaking to firm up the pepper rings. Note multiple fresh water rinses are required.

The 7 1/2 cups of cider vinegar (5%) can be cider or white distilled but must be 5% acidity. Many other types of vinegar are NOT 5%. Cider vinegar is preferred for the flavor it gives, less sharp, less bite.