Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grlsixx_gw

Corn Salsa Recipe from 'Put 'Em Up'- safe?

grlsixx
11 years ago

Hi, I would like to make a recipe I found in "Put 'Em Up" but, I am not experienced enough to know if this recipe is considered safe or not. Would you mind taking a peek and sharing your opinion? Has anyone made this recipe?

Thanks!

Heather

12 ears corn, shucked

3c distilled white vinegar

1c sugar

1T ground cumin

1T salt

5lbs tomatoes, diced

1-2 jalapenos, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 large onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2c chopped fresh cilantro

1. boil corn 5 mins & drain. Cool & slice off kernals

2. combine vinegar, sugar, cumin & salt in large pot & bring to boil. Add tomatoes, jalapenos, bell pepper, onion, garlic and corn kernals, and return to boil. reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes. stir in clinatro and return to boil. remove from heat.

3. ladle hot miture into hot jars. leave 1/2" headspace. process 15 minutes bwb.

Comments (15)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Corn Salsa from any source is a risky product. Not only is it full of low acid ingredients but it is eaten fresh from the jar with no further cooking to render any bacteria inert. So extra care needs to be taken with using recipes from un-verifed sources.

We have talked about this particular book here before and generally found it "not for the untrained/inexperienced" as some of the recipes are borderline questionable and the author provides no credentials in food preservation. Is that fair? Maybe not but unless the author provides details on the testing done on the recipes it is a do-at-you-own-risk decision. You can read all about her on the amazon website for the book and on her own website.

So can this particular recipe be assured as safe? No. Is it probably ok? Maybe. Personally I don't think it is enough acid for all the low-acid vegetables it contains to be BWB processed.