Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
queenofking

A SAFE refrigerator dill pickle recipe? Please?

QueenOfKing
11 years ago

Hi there. I'm new to canning/pickling. I've been reading the forums here (thank you!) and am looking for a proven SAFE refrigerator recipe for pickles (that will be eaten within a week...)

I've read that there are some not so safe ones and some that are (the vinegar to water ratio?)

Any help appreciated - want to make these tonight for this weekend! Thank you!

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

You can use the NCHFP recipe for starters and if you are making just a small batch they can go into the fridge rather than processing them.

The minimal safe vinegar to water ratio is 1:1, more vinegar is safer. The NCHFP recipe linked below is a bit less than 1:1 but it is lab tested. Those recipes that aren't lab tested, stick with the 1:1 ratio or more. Of course any 100% vinegar recipe would be ok.

But for most recipes it may take more than 1 week for taste to develop.

Here are some previous discussions on them, some with recipes.

And then there is the Mrs. Wages pickle mixes that many folks like.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Quick Fresh Pack Dill Pickles

• QueenOfKing
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you so much Dave!

• skeip
    11 years ago

And I would like to offer this as my favorite

THE BEST REFRIGERATOR PICKLES

4 Cups thinly sliced Cucumbers
    1/2 Medium Onion, thinly sliced
    3 Cloves Garlic, sliced
    1 Teaspoon Whole Black Peppercorns
    1 Tablespoon Kosher Salt
    1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar
    1/2 Cup White Vinegar
    1/2 Cup Water
    3 Tablespoons Chopped Fresh Dill, or three Dill Heads

In a small saucepan, combine Water, Vinegar, Sugar and Salt, bring just to a boil and shut off heat.