Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
funissa

Pickling Questions and Concerns

funissa
13 years ago

Happy Friday everyone! This is my first time ever growing my own veggies and trying my hand at pickling and canning. From the research I've done so far I'm scared to death to even try with the risk of one taste can kill if not done correctly. But I did take a chance and made 2 jars of refrigerator pickles that didn't require canning. The recipe on the pickling mix was for maybe 14 pints when I was only making 2 so I did my best to adjust. I jarred the pickles, boiled them for 10 minutes, left cool for 2 hours and put in the refrigerator. Several days later I tried them and they tasted very good. But, of course, my concern is is that method safe as long as we eat them within 2 months?

Also, the cukes are coming up like crazy. I have 9 in the fridge waiting to be pickled. Obviously, we can't eat that many since there are only 2 of us. So, I need to can them so they can be stored outside the fridge. I don't want to go the fermenting route because I honestly just don't think I'll keep up with the descumming and such as would be needed. I bought a dill plant yesterday but want to know if it's possible to use the dill from my spice rack instead of fresh? Do you know of any safe recipes that call for ground instead of fresh dill?

I was hoping to add some form of garlic but now I'm reading that this may increase the chance of botulism. Can I use the jarred garlic from the grocery store or garlic powder? In this case I'd prefer fresh garlic but again I don't want to get sick or worse.