Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrsdymacek

What is worth it?! Canning vs. Freezing

mrsdymacek
14 years ago

I am just starting out with the whole "preserving the harvest" thing. My mother canned lots and lots of things, and only froze fresh corn. My mother in law canned with her mother on a wood burning stove until the late 80's and now loathes the chore and says to just freeze/buy everything.

Please share what I should freeze vs. what I should can. Some things are just nasty after they've been frozen but other things work for me just fine. Last year, I had good luck freezing butternut squash and pumpkin purees, zucchini, and applesauce. This year I plan on canning jams and chow chow, (and whatever else suits my fancy to try).

Comments (20)

• digdirt2
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Do you have access to a pressure canner or just BWB? That will make a big difference in what you can can and what must be frozen.

The summer squash, pumpkin puree, etc. can't be safely canned anyway so freezing is the way to go with them just as you did. Applesauce cans well in BWB. Chow chow will all depend on the recipe you use - some recipes require PC.

Have you explored NCHFP yet? It gives great guidelines and recipes on what may be canned and how and what must be frozen. What other things are you growing that you'd be interested in canning?

Dave

• mrsdymacek
    Original Author
    14 years ago

That's the trick. :( I'm not growing. I'm hunting and gathering. :) We have a wonderful u-pick place here that has berries of all kinds, grapes, apples and now has a veggie garden. I do not have a pressure canner, yet, and unless I can create some attic magic this weekend at the in-laws', my water bath canner is only on loan, so I can't sit around and think about this for too long!

Tell me about the chow-chow as I would like to get some of that done in the next few days as the random ingredients are readily accessible.