Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
outdrgirl_gw

Pressure Canning Spaghetti Sauce Recipe

Outdrgirl
11 years ago

Hoping someone can help. I'm new to pressure canning. I ran across this spaghetti sauce recipe on cooks.com and whipped it up. It's getting close to being ready to add to jars. I was fine until I ran across this forum, now I'm wondering if it's okay to pressure can it like the directions provide? I would go ahead and WB instead, but I'm also canning tomatoes today-so canner is in use. Thoughts?

Makes 12 quarts. Put into a canner 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil, swish around so the whole bottom is oiled. Add 36 ripe tomatoes or 7 quarts canned. Prepare ripe tomatoes as if for canning, from hot water to cold and peel Add:

12 onions, cut up

6 to 8 green peppers

2 c. chopped mushrooms (optional)

1 1/2 tsp. pepper

4 cloves garlic, cut up

8 (5 oz.) cans tomato paste

2 tsp. salt

8 tsp. sugar

2 tbsp. oregano

2 tbsp. basil

2 tsp. thyme

12 bay leaves (put in a piece of net and tie up; then add to mixture)

Add rest of ingredients. Stir well and simmer slowly 2 hours, stirring OFTEN so it won't stick to bottom. Remove cloth with bay leaves. Put into sterilized jars, wipe tops and seal with lids. Leave 1 inch space in each jar. Process in hot water bath for 70 minutes or in pressure cooker for 35 minutes. Makes about 12 quarts.

Comments (10)

• dgkritch
    11 years ago

I wouldn't touch that one! Way too much oil to be safe.
    If you've already got it cooked, go ahead and freeze it, but not safe for canning.

If you look at the quantities in the link below (it's about double your recipe) you'll see that there's very little oil.

Also, water bath canning it is NOT an option with all the low acid veggies.

Twelve onions?!?!? My goodness. That's an entire onion for every 3 tomatoes. Have you tasted it to see if you like it?

You really should use tested recipes, especially for stuff with low acid ingredients like this.