Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eclecticgardner

New to canning - serious safety question

eclecticgardner
10 years ago

Hi everyone!
I am brand new to canning (unless you count when I was just around eight years old helping my mom - lol)
I purchased a All American Pressure Cooker/Canner, and it just arrived yesterday.
We had tons of fresh tomatoes that were just ripe from the garden, and my hubby decided to jump right in and can them up using his favorite home made salsa recipe.

The canning part worked out fine. He cooked it in our pressure canner for fifteen minutes at 240 degrees.

I have been reading how important it is to follow previously proven recipes, and I am wondering (since he seems to believe that 1/4 cup lime to the 5 lb tomatoes, and the heat of the canning makes it safe) if you all would think I should be afraid to eat it?
The rest of the ingredients are the usual, habanero peppers, onions, garlic, and spices.
I would sincerely appreciate any thoughts on the matter, I would hate to have to throw out the salsa, but I would hate much more to be very, very sick!

Thanks,
EG

Comments (3)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

It is an untested and unapproved recipe so there is no way to know if it is safe without at least seeing the entire recipe.

But salsa is one of the most risky things to play around with since it is primarily low acid foods and is eaten straight from the jar with no further cooking. So the standard recommendation is that you cannot safely can your own recipes for salsa. See info sheet below.