Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pnwgirl_gw

canning books for the complete novice

PNWGirl
11 years ago

Hi,

If this hits twice, sorry. Thought I sent this out earlier but don't see it, so creating again.

I am brand new to canning and am in the process of getting my supplies.

I am getting the Ball book but was looking at these two. Can anyone tell me if one is better than the other (for newbies)?

Canning and Preserving For Dummies

Canning for a New Generation: Bold, Fresh Flavors for the Modern Pantry

Thank you!

Sheila :)

Comments (12)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

IMO neither is for newbies. They are not approved or certified to meet USDA standards AFAIK. Stick with the approved books until you gain enough experience to recognize recipes that are unsafe.

Look into So Easy to Preserve from NCHFP and Small Batch Preserving. Several discussions here about safe books. Here is a good one: http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/harvest/msg110306598330.html

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP

• GeneTheNewGuy
    11 years ago

I'm a rookie at this too. Among other things, I went to my local public library and they have a ton of books and even a video dvd on home canning. The only thing I can suggest is to make sure the books are very recent to reflect the modern current up to date methods.

You might also check and see if any local groups are offering canning classes. Your local county extension office might be a good resource too.

There are some good vides on YouTube, but be careful, some of those people are doing things NOT SAFE. But the Ball company has some of their very own videos and I think that anything from Ball has just about got to be safe and right.

This coming Saturday our local Williams Sonoma is offering a free class in preserving and canning tomatoes. I am going to be there for sure.