Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
naturenut_ohio

cabbage rolls and stuffed peppers

naturenut_ohio
14 years ago

I just picked 6 heads of cabbage and many peppers and wanted to make cabbage rolls and stuffed peppers and then freeze them.. This is my first year trying to store for winter and I was curious how to freeze both of these? Should I bake them sauce and all start to finish then freeze or leave the sauce off the top or what??

Thanks all,

Amy

Comments (10)

• malna
    14 years ago

I freeze a lot of stuffed cabbage and stuffed peppers, but mine are simmered in sauce, not baked.

I would think you should cook them start to finish and then freeze, but (like I said) I've never made them that way. Maybe add some extra sauce on top when re-heating?

If you venture over to the Cooking Forum, there was quite a lengthy thread about stuffed cabbage and my recipe is there (not too far down).

Here is a link that might be useful: Stuffed Cabbage-Cooking Forum

• naturenut_ohio
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, I debated about posting this question here or the cooking forum.. Maybe there would have been better..:~)

• flora_uk
    14 years ago

I make cabbage rolls quite often. I don't have a recipe, I just make it up with whatever ingredients I have around. They freeze easily. I just put them into old ice cream tubs, along with the sauce they're cooked in and stick them in the freezer. I take a lot to my ancient mum who can then just stick them in the microwave and have a ready made meal including all the food groups in a couple of minutes. (Providing she doesn't forget them and wander off!) I have bought her a timer with a string to go round her neck so when she gets side tracked the bell goes off and reminds her she has something in the oven. Sometimes I think I'd better get one for myself......

• ksrogers
    14 years ago