Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
growinidaho

New to canning, questions

growinidaho
13 years ago

I am new to canning this yr. Second yr for gardening. I have the 16 qrt Presto. Thanks for everyones posts, I have learned sooo much already!!

I may have lots of questions this season. The only thing I know how to make is freezer jam and uncanned pickled beets.

1. Is there a guide that tells me how many pounds are in how many cups. I don't have a food scale. For instance how many beets for a batch of pints or quarts. I know some recipes tell but I guide would be nice.

2. Do you measure by weight before or after cooking them, like the beets.

3. How do you know what fruit or veggie to tightly pack or loosely pack.

This list is what I plan to can:

Annies salsa

tomatoes

pickled beets

beets

dill pickles

sweet pickles

jalapenos

berry jam

maybes:

peaches

tomato sauce

tomato soup

pears

My beets will be ready in a week or 2. Pickling cukes don't have tendrils yet. The salsa veggies won't be ready until August. I am trying to watch videos to pick up tips and read all I can. I am slowly learning about high/low acid foods, safety precautions, storing, how to follow recipes exactly, etc. Any informational links would be great!

Thanks in advance for your replies!!!

Comments (46)

• kathy_in_washington
    13 years ago

Dear Grow in Idaho (it'd be nice to know your first name, too!), Congratulations on planning to take the leap.

First: Purchase yourself the most recent Ball Blue Book on Canning (Walmart, some produce markets, sold many places -- under $8) for a wealth of information. Great photos.

Second: While you have a Pressure Cooker, I don't know if it's a Pressure Canner (check the BBB for info on that).

Third: Get yourself a nice Boiling Water Bath ... and a scale. The scales are very handy, especially when you're not good at judging. If you're purchasing your produce it might be very helpful, so you really know how much to purchase.