Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mochabeans_gw

Really big pickling cucumbers, okay to use?

mochabeans
13 years ago

This is my first year growing cucumbers for pickling, second year making pickles. Some of my cucumbers got really big, like 2-3" thick or so and 6+" inches long. Are these too big to slice and make dill slices out of? Also, some of them have been sitting in the fridge for a few weeks waiting for enough to ripen to make a full batch. They're still quite firm feeling, but are they going to be a bad idea to make into pickles? If so, what should I do with them?

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• Linda_Lou
    13 years ago

They are really only suitable for relish at this point. They should never sit in the fridge that long. They need to be picked and pickled within 24 hours.
    Why not make up brine and keep in the fridge and just process a few jars in the boiling water bath at a time ?
    The recipe I use for dill pickles only makes a few pints anyway.

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

So you can't make pickles out of store-bought pickling cukes?

You can of course but the quality of the pickles will be less. Growing your own or getting them fresh picked from a local grower or farmer's market gives the best results by far. They go soft very quickly once picked.

Dave

• pixie_lou
    13 years ago

My great grandfather used to make pickles out of overgrown cukes. He would peel the cukes, then take all the seeds out. He would use the white flesh only, cut into chunks. And they were pretty yummy.

I've been trying to find the family recipe. We used to call them "Grampas Pickles". My grandmother used to also make them. But she has alzheimers pretty bad now. I'm trying to contact the extended family tree to see if anyone else has the recipe. We just got home from a weeks vacation and have a couple almost baseball bat sized slicer cukes - and this would be the perfect solution for those cukes. But I think they are going to end up in the compost bin instead.

• marymac