Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dfishing

Is it safe to can zucchini ?

dfishing
13 years ago

Hi everyone one I'm brand new to canning just started last year. Thanks for all the great info i've read already can see some of my mom's old receipes aren't safe glad they didn't kill us. I did some reading last year and remember reading something like the FDA says its no longer safe to can zucchini. Is that true? An if so does that apply to say subing zucchs for cues in a bread butter receipe. Am confused?

David

Comments (21)

• Linda_Lou
    13 years ago

You can only use it for pickles not canned plain in a presssure canner.

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

Yep used in pickling recipes its fine. Enough vinegar to off-set its low acidity. There is a great Zucchini Relish recipe here. And there is an approved recipe for Canned Tomatoes with Zucchini too at NCHFP.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Canned Tomatoes & Zucchini

• pixie_lou
    13 years ago

Linda - my understanding is that the recomendation to NOT can zucchini and other summer squashes had to do with a quality issue - the canned product turned to mush. Not a safety issue. Can you clarify. Thanks.

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

It is explained in more detail at NCHFP FAQS. It is a combination of safety issues related to the unknown pressure canning processing time and quality.

Why is canning summer squash or zucchini not recommended?