Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ikea_gw

canning pineapple bbq sauce

ikea_gw
12 years ago

I have a recipe for pineapple bbq sauce that I'd like to can. It is basically the sauce on http://www.bbqu.net/season1/102.html but I use habanero instead. :-)

How should I go about canning these? I am new to canning so any advice will be welcome!

Comments (12)

• readinglady
    12 years ago

I'm sorry, but that recipe is not designed for canning.

Secondarily, assuming you use canned pineapple juice (the usual choice), most of the BBQ sauce is just mixing together already bottled products - i.e. the juice, ketchup, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce. Why bother canning something so simple?

Carol

Here is a link that might be useful: Pineapple BBQ Sauce

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Carol is correct - as always. That is a fresh-use-only recipe and not a canning recipe. Like regular cooking recipes, most fresh-use recipes cannot be safely canned for shelf storage. They have never been tested for proper pH and density for canning. Recipes that are approved for canning will always include the instructions for doing it, processing times, jar size, etc.

If you feel you must make it ahead of time for storage you could freeze it although I think it would keep well in the fridge for several weeks.

Dave

• ikea_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Carol, the link you posted is the same as the one I posted. Is that a mistake?

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

No she was just making it a clickable link so the rest of us could check it out too. Much easier than having to copy, open another window, and paste.

Dave

• ikea_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Dave.

I wanted to can some bbq sauce because I don't always have time to make the sauce. I thought it would be nice to be able to have some ready for use at all times.

So what makes a recipe suitable/not suitable for canning?

• Linda_Lou
    12 years ago