Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lana_lang

Salsa canning question

lana_lang
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to canning. I steam-canned whole tomatoes for the first time last year and it worked great! I'd like to can my salsa recipe, but I'm wondering what method of canning I should use. I understand that non-acidic veggies should be canned in a pressure cooker. My salsa has peppers and onions in it, so does it need to be pressure-canned? Or will the acidity in the tomatoes ensure that it will not spoil?

Also, can anyone recommend a good pressure canner?

Comments (27)

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

Whether your salsa recipe would require pressure canning or BWB canning all depends on the recipes ingredients so we'd need to see the whole recipe please.

Acidity of tomatoes alone isn't sufficient for canning - they require additional acid to be added to them when canned in any form - whole, chopped or juiced. And steam canning isn't approved. Some use it but only for high acid products like pickles.

You'll find all the details on this at NCHFP linked below.

As to pressure canner, a search here using that term will pull up many past discussions on them. The most commonly recommended one is the Presto 23 qt along with the purchase of the optional 3 piece weight set.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP

• dgkritch
    14 years ago

Please use an approved recipe for canning salsa!
    There are many. If you search this forum for Annie's Salsa, you'll find a really great one.
    Salsa is one of those products you don't want to mess with.
    The ratio of acid (vinegar, lemon or lime juice) to the tomatoes and the low acid veggies is very important!!
    If you post your recipe, we may be able to help determine whether it may be canned.
    Some recipes are "cooking" rather than canning recipes.

Also, search the forum (the search function is at the top of the home page) for pressure canners. Many, many discussions here.