Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bart1_gw

Canning tomato sauce question (for digdirt)?

bart1
12 years ago

Digdirt/Dave -

In this thread (link at bottom)you posted a recipe for tomato sauce but also linked to a canning recipe on the NCHPF site that you liked:

http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_03/spaghetti_sauce.html

I started to make that recipe last night and got all the way to the canning part, but then lost my nerve. I got confused/scared because there was no mention of lemon juice or citric acid. You simply cooked the sauce (tomatoes, garlic, onion, celery, oil, herbs) and canned it.

I've been canning for a few years (tomaotes only) but am still a novice, so I ended up just freezing the sauce.

Did the recipe leave out the citric acid or is it not required for some reason. To my novice way of thinking, if you need to add citric acid for fresh tomatoes, surely you must add it for tomatoes with the addition of all the other things mentioned above.

Can you or anyone else clear this up for me?

Thanks!

Bart

Here is a link that might be useful: Original sauce thread

Comments (10)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Bart - I understand your confusion and you aren't the first. :) But the NCHFP Spaghetti Sauce recipe is safe just as written. It has been extensively tested by USDA and NCHFP over the years and is one of the very few approved exceptions to the acidification and no-oil rules.

The big difference that makes it safe is the stipulation in the instructions that you may NOT alter any of the ingredient amounts and the longer pressure canning processing time at a higher pressure than plain tomatoes. Needless to say you may add citric acid or bottled lemon juice to it for an extra margin of safety if you wish but it isn't required.

I hope this answers your questions. If not, let me know.

Dave

• bart1
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Dave!