Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimhat_gw

Ball Basil Garlic Tomato sauce recipe

KimHat
11 years ago

Hi! I am new to canning and I have been looking for a tested marinara sauce recipe that does not have peppers or celery in it. I finally found it on the ball site- their basil/garlic tomato sauce recipe. The only problem is that it only gives the recipe using pints and I wanted to put up quarts! Does anyone know if processing quarts would be ok and what the time would be for processing using a water bath canner? If not does anyone have any suggestions? I really want a recipe using quarts without peppers or celery but that at least has garlic in it- though I do love basil, too. I also wouldn't be opposed to mushrooms. Thanks! Kim

Comments (13)

• KimHat
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Also, Could I add wine to it? and how much would be ok? And here is the recipe:

Here is a link that might be useful: Basil Garlic Tomato Sauce

• readinglady
    11 years ago

First you can take any recipe and delete peppers and celery (but don't increase amounts of other items or add other ingredients) so if you see a recipe that is otherwise promising, just leave the offending ingredients out.

Second, you can add wine as it's acid.

Processing quarts cannot be done if the recipe only specifies pints. You can downsize but not upsize jars. There's no way to know what the processing time for quarts would be. The time would need to be greater to assure adequate heat penetration and without testing that can't be determined.

Carol

• KimHat
    Original Author
    11 years ago