Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomatoes: How much do you can?

Posted by robinkateb z4 VT (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 23, 10 at 11:30

I am just getting started on my winters supply of canned tomatoes (Vermont's growing season means we are just beginning to be inundated). Last year I canned 28 qts of crushed tomatoes and I had enough to last until tomatoes were ripe, but only because I was careful.

So, how many tomatoes do you can for the year? What method is your favorite?

This year my goal is 40 qts, mostly crushed with citric acid as the acidifier

-Robin

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomatoes: How much do you can?

My big harvest is just coming in as well---I am in Z5 but got my seedlings planted late.

It's just DH and me so I can mostly in pints and even in half-pints. I generally do plain tomato sauce, crushed tomatoes, herbed pasta sauce, and Annie's salsa (which we use as the basis for meals as well as to eat with tortilla chips; it's also much prized as a gift among my family so I like to have extra).

Last year was a crummy tomato year---I did probably 75 jars total spread over those four types of stuff. I had to be careful, was stingy about giving away, and still ran out of everything a few weeks early.

I'm aiming for between 150 and 200 jars of assorted tomato stuff this year to keep us happy and well stocked --- and if it's at the higher end, able to be generous!

Note that sauce takes a lot more tomatoes than crushed tomatoes to make the same amount of jars (even if, as in my case, you use mostly paste tomatoes and don't cook your sauce down too too much).

Z

o

I'm wondering the same thing. I did 7 quarts of tomatoes last year - mainly as an experiment.

I'v tried to keep track of how many store bought cans I've bought - diced tomatoes, tomato puree, and marinara sauce. (FWIW - we are a family of 3, with the 3rd one being a 5 yo) Based on that, I'm shooting for

35 pints diced tomatoes